Stag Beetle

Stag Beetle

Anyone know the exact species? Found in TN. I’m fairly certain that this one is female as she doesn’t have the huge mandibles. My cats happened across this one, curiously inspecting her as she made her way for cover. Unfortunately, she didn’t find cover in time. I think my neighbor’s puppy ate her. What’s with dogs eating beetles? Extra protein? They must be a delicacy for dogs because my neighbor’s dogs will eat any beetle they find. Such is the way of nature. ;P

Share your thoughts.

