Looking Forward to Autumn

Looking Forward to Autumn

I’m looking forward to seeing how the landscape changes around here. The chill in the air today was perfect for this first day of autumn. (I’m finding mixed messages online about the autumnal equinox. The Old Farmer’s Almanac says September 22nd at 10:29 pm EDT, and Google and others say September 23rd.) Unfortunately, I didn’t take a spectacular photo to commemorate the day because I was busy playing with a new toy, an acoustic guitar given to me by a friend over the weekend. Oh, JOY, I’m loving it! Truly, I am. I had one years ago, but never got around to learning to play it well. All I can really do is pluck out a tune, one string at a time. Luckily, there’s plenty of how-to videos and websites around to guide me through. I still say playing a piano is much easier, though. My fingertips are so sore!

I took these photos a week ago Sunday, 9.14.14. I’m pretty sure the insect is a Margined Blister Beetle, Epicauta funebris. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. It caught my eye as it was an insect I had never seen before. It was a pretty smoky grey and black and kind of fuzzy. I’m not finding a whole lot of information about this beetle. Given the word “funebris” in its taxonomy, I’m left wondering if it is part of nature’s clean-up crew, one of the insects that feeds on dead animals or something (?). Educate me if you know. 🙂

Margined Blister Beetle

And Happy Autumnal Equinox!

4 thoughts on “Looking Forward to Autumn

  1. No idea what those bugs are, but I love the photos of them. StarDate magazine tells me that you were right with the Farmer’s Almanac about when autumn started. Though it’s been more summerlike this first week of autumn than it was the week before.

    1. Thank you, Sid. I thought it was kind of strange that I found a discrepancy in the date. The weather here is much the same, still summer-like during the daytime. The evenings are cooling down quite a bit, though, enough for a hoodie. 🙂

Share your thoughts.

