Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

On Top

I was back out at Burgess Falls today hiking and had in mind this week’s photo challenge. My photo really does not do a 130 foot drop justice. Luckily, there were a couple of tiny people down at the bottom to put it into perspective. My fear of heights is lessening; and this is the closest I think I’ve ever gotten to the edge of the gorge. It was an easy climb both down and back up, as the rocks weren’t nearly as slippery as they were 3 weeks ago.

From The Top

There was a Great Blue Heron at the waterfall today. As I sat waiting patiently to see if he, not sure if it was male or female, but I’ll use the male pronoun for ease of writing, would come closer, I balanced a few stones. Unfortunately, he never came close enough for a good photo, waiting just outside the scope of my camera’s lens.

While I Wait...

 Sandhill Crane

The one above is NOT a great photo; but the best I got. He was very leery of me and waited until I climbed all the way back up to the top before returning not even 20 feet away from where I balanced my stones. I had to laugh because I couldn’t blame him for wanting to be left alone. Heck, that’s why I was out there; but I wouldn’t have minded his company.

Update: I forgot to add this short video clip of Burgess Falls with an interrupting bumblebee.

And Correction Update: It’s not a Sandhill Crane, but a Great Blue Heron. I have no idea how I missed that because I know the difference; but thank you, Mary, for pointing it out to me! I even mis-labeled it on Flickr. In my defense, I have been very tired and distracted lately; so please, forgive my mistake. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

  1. Hi Patricia, I love your posts about the falls.
    The bird in the photo is a great blue heron I’m pretty sure. I photographed them for years when I lived by a pond. Here are a few links to my favorite heron photos:
    http://theripestpics.com/2011/05/03/great-blue-heron-picture-perfect-2/
    http://theripestpics.com/2010/06/20/great-blue-heron-in-the-pines/
    http://theripestpics.com/2010/06/13/great-blue-heron/
    I found that over time, a heron will adapt to your presence and let you get closer. That was my experience anyway at the pond.
    Thanks for sharing about the falls!
    Mary

    1. Mary, thank you so much for pointing that out to me. The Sandhill Crane actually has a red mark around its eye and a fluffier back end, kind of like an ostrich. I’m so mad at myself for the mislabel, lol. I must have just had Sandhill Crane stuck in my head because I made that mistake on Flickr as well as here. Oh well, it’s corrected, now; and thank you again! 😀

      And everyone should check out Mary’s photos she shared above. Fantastic captures!

Share your thoughts.

