How-To Share Photos From Flickr To WordPress, Now (And Unexpected Snow)

Unexpected Snow

Unexpected Snow, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Well, obviously, all my photos are all still here on WordPress; so the Flickr changes are not an issue in that respect. This post is kind of a test-run to evaluate the new changes made to Flickr and figure out exactly how to post from there, now. Basically, it’s not too complicated, just much more time-consuming. Maybe, speed will come as I become accustomed to doing it this way. For anyone wondering who hasn’t figured it out yet, these are the steps for embedding a photo from your Flickr account to WordPress, now:

  1. Open the photo you want to share.
  2. On the right-hand side of the page you will see your new sidebar. There’s a share button (a rectangle with an arrow pointing to the upper right-hand corner). Click on that.
  3. You’ll see the option to share in a variety of ways, but WordPress is no longer an option. Select the HTML option (radio button) at the bottom of that share box and “copy” (Control “C”) the HTML code.
  4. On WordPress, go to “Add New Post.” Rather than adding media in the traditional way, you will need to add the HTML code to the “Text” tab. Normally, when you are editing a post on WordPress, you are using the Visual Editor (What You See is What You Get). Right next to that tab, in the upper right-hand corner of the editor, you will also see the “Text” tab. Click on that tab, and paste (Control “V”) the HTML code in the position where you want your photo to show up. This may be a little more tricky for those of you who are not accustomed to sorting through HTML; but you can easily switch back over to the “Visual” tab/editor to be sure you’ve pasted it in the correct place.

I hope this how-to explanation helps. If anyone has any questions or you need clarifications on a step, feel free to ask. Also, if anyone finds a simpler or faster way to do this, please, don’t hesitate to share. Honestly, I really dislike the new photo page viewer on Flickr. It seems to have a few glitches right now, like not loading properly every time to move through the photostream with ease. My guess is that will work itself out eventually, though; and I’ll get used to the new changes, like all the other changes that occur online.

I debated on whether or not to share the other three photos with this post or to create a new post for them. I decided I might as well combine the two posts for extra practice with this new method of sharing. When I glanced outside this afternoon to see snow coming down with a ferocity like I’ve never seen, I was both in awe and fascinated. I couldn’t resist going out in it for a few photos.

 Purple Deadnettle #1

Purple Deadnettle #1, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

I thought I may have mislabeled these plants during my 366 project as Lamium aplexicaule L.; but apparently, I just called them Henbit, which is a common name for either Lamium aplexicaule L. or Lamium purpureum L. (what these actually are). Though, it’s possible that there is a mixture of the two in the yard as they commonly grow together. Our yard is so full of weeds, but I kind of like it since most weeds have very pretty flowers.

Purple Deadnettle #2

Purple Deadnettle #2, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Socks & Sandals in Snow ;)

Socks & Sandals in Snow 😉, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Yes, I’ve worn socks with sandals ever since I lived in Hawaii, where this practice was common. I’ll never understand the fashion faux pas of doing so. They’re also the quickest thing to put on to protect the soles of my feet just to run out to the mailbox or whatever. Normally, I’m barefoot (or sock-footed). I hate shoes!

The snow didn’t stick around long – at all. In fact, by the time I wrangled Moses back into the house (he was determined to go out in the snow, too), the sun quickly came out and melted the tiny bit that was stuck to the plants. Now, it’s just sunny and windy.

2 thoughts on “How-To Share Photos From Flickr To WordPress, Now (And Unexpected Snow)

  1. Hi Patricia!
    Thanks for sharing about flickr. I use Picasa mostly. But for my blog posts, I “drag and drop” my photos. First, I save them to my photo files and then I save the ones I want to post about to a file on my desktop. Then I just open the desktop file and drag them to the media library in the WordPress (WP) editor.
    Today, WP sent out one of its regular e-newsletters (all WP users should subscribe to this – it’s SO helpful) that links to an article about how WP is making the drag and drop feature even easier. Now, you just drag the photo into the text editor, right into the place you want it to appear within your post! Anyway, here’s the link to that article in case you or any of your readers want to try it this way.
    http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2014/03/25/editor-playlists-improvements/
    Scroll till you see “Drag and drop file uploads”
    Thanks for the tips!
    Love your snow pictures! Love your socks and sandals!!!

    1. Thanks for sharing that link, Mary. It’s very helpful. I must have missed it coming through my feed. I’m subscribed to so many blogs that I often miss A LOT, especially from WordPress.com. I think I’ll subscribe to that one via email, so I don’t miss them. There’s just so many great bloggers out there! 🙂

Share your thoughts.

