Watercolor Blue Jay

Watercolor Blue Jay by pixygiggles
Watercolor Blue Jay, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Yesterday was a much-needed art therapy day. I spent the day working on this sketch of a blue jay while listening to Joshua Radin, then Alison Krauss, ending with Lenka. Music is certainly part of my art process.

My mother always sends money for Christmas. God love her, she’s 77 years old and just doesn’t get out as much as she used. This year, I decided to put that money towards art supplies. I finally have some decent paper to work on, and I bought a set of watercolor pencils. I love these things! They are so much fun to work with.

These pencils turn any drawing I’m working on into one of those watercolor coloring books. Do you remember those from childhood? They had the color already added to the pages. All you had to do was add water. My mom and dad always bought those (and lots of other arts and crafts supplies) for me as a kid. I always loved those types of coloring books, too. This was a happy reminder of a favorite childhood hobby.

I look forward to playing around with these pencils more!

The pencil sketch, before adding water:

2 thoughts on “Watercolor Blue Jay

  1. Love it! I do remember those coloring books, but the watercolor pencils are intriguing to me. There must be some precision to the addition of water, no? Anyway, what a great outlet I imagine your art is – and you’re good, to boot. Happy 2014 by the way. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sid. Happy 2014 to you, as well. 🙂 I believe that there *is* a precision to adding water. My guess is it will take me some time to master that. I need to figure out how to get a nice even coat of water to make the colors blend smoothly. That will just take some practice, though. It’s time to put those practice techniques I learned in college to use, lol.

      By the way, in regard to your earlier comment about adding my blog to the Blog For Mental Health 2014 project, I’ve been giving it more thought lately. I may go ahead and add this one as well. I’m finding it difficult not to discuss my mental health issues here as they are affecting my life so much at this time. It’s still my goal to keep *this* blog more upbeat and positive, though, even if that is hard to do. 😉

Share your thoughts.

