Distraction

Distraction

Distraction, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

This past June, I went through one of Coursera’s online classes, Introduction to Art: Concepts & Techniques. It was a refresher course, at best; but it gave me a few new ideas to explore and the chance to experience the direction that online education is taking. Personally, I feel that online education has a ways to go before it reaches the full capacity of what brick and mortar universities offer; however, for people who are highly motivated, I could see the benefits of taking this route. For anyone interested Coursera has many classes offered on a variety of topics.

I began this piece of art for the Fantasy & You assignment, which I think, was week one. The photo below is where I got stuck. I didn’t know what to do for the background. And there it sat for the last 6 months… unfinished. I pulled it out yesterday afternoon and looked at it again. Inspiration hit and the photo above is the result.

The photograph doesn’t do it justice. I normally work much, much smaller. This one is 14″ x 17″ or considerably larger than my flatbed scanner. This, of course, meant photographing it instead to get a digital copy which creates a whole host of issues to contend with – lighting, focus, lining it up perfectly. This was the best I got.

Media:

Pentel RSVP Ball-point Pens

Papermate Gel Pens

Colored Pencils

Uni Paint Markers

Style: Zentangle (For anyone not familiar with Zentangle, I suggest researching this art method because it is one of the most relaxing styles of art that I have ever encountered. It’s, simply put, meditative.)

Feel free to interpret this as you will, and share your interpretations or general feedback. I would be curious to hear your thoughts. 😉

2 thoughts on “Distraction

  1. I love all the bright colors and patterns. They are really great. You should check out the work on my blog lilybunny.com I think you may like it and maybe follow if you like 🙂

  2. I’ll do both – hello, Patricia. The variation in apparent depth of all those patterns is striking, but what I see above all is that while she can neither see nor speak, her mind is taking it all in. Undistracted by the quiet chaos around, I might add.

    Then, I’ve never been good at articulating my interpretations to artworks…

Share your thoughts.

