Sunday Spider

Sunday Spider by pixygiggles
Sunday Spider, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

The other day David told me he woke up and sat down at his computer like he always does before heading off to work. He happened to glance up and noticed two jumping spiders above him. One headed off another direction toward the overhead light, but the other was stubborn and wouldn’t move.

David captured it and left it under a cup on my desk for me to find when I woke up. Cautiously, I lifted the cup when I found it, to find a very agitated spider hiding at the top. Perhaps, agitated is the wrong word. I would say more like ticked off! Having no idea how long the poor little thing had been trapped under there, I quickly took it to the front door for release. As I opened the door, it leapt from the cup and completely disappeared.

Poof, gone like a ghost.

For the next 10 minutes I searched myself, the door, the floor – everywhere I could think. It was nowhere to be found. I had to laugh at myself and hoped it had managed to get out the front door without my seeing.

Today, David pointed out this one, right by the front door. Who knows, maybe, it’s the same one. Since it was much calmer and exhibiting the usual curiosity that I’ve often noticed of jumping spiders, I took a few photos before scooting it out the door.

I seriously love these spiders for their personality. They are special little creatures, one species that deserves our respect and familiarity. If you’ve never taken the time to get to know one, you should. You’ll be surprised by their inquisitive nature and fearlessness.

Fear not the spider. It’s only trying to survive like the rest of us. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sunday Spider

    1. They’re very active here right now, as well. I’m surprised I haven’t seen any wolf spiders or grass spiders in the house yet. They like to come in when the temperature starts cooling off. And mercy, they’re big! Our house is a “no kill zone,” only capture and release. 🙂 These jumping spiders keep coming back in, though, lol.

Share your thoughts.

