Happy Birthday, #509!

Happy Birthday, #509!

The 509 had a special birthday party over this past weekend. The steam engine is a century old! I didn’t get to attend the party; but since I was out and about today, I did stop by to get a quick photo of the train in its birthday attire.

100th Birthday

All of my photos of the train thus far are very similar. Looking back at all the ones I had taken previously and the ones I took today makes me wonder how to challenge myself to come up with a more unique way to photograph the same subject.

Setting Sun at the Depot

This one is heavily edited. The original didn’t have nearly enough detail in the train; so I duplicated the image, lightening the area quite a bit while trying to maintain the sunset. Overall, probably not one of my best; but I liked it.

Share your thoughts.

