Day 343 Photography Imitating Fine Art

Long ago, I had a book full of masterpieces. I spent many a childhood afternoon thumbing through its pages carefully studying each image; so my love for the great masters of fine art such as Da Vinci, Monet, Van Gogh, Rembrandt, etc. began early on. Their masterful execution of the media they worked in was nothing short of genius.

I had their work in mind while I edited this photo in Corel Photo-Paint X4. It’s much more heavily edited than normally. I generally prefer to leave my photos as close to the original as possible, but I see absolutely nothing wrong with taking some creative liberty every now and again. The biggest change I made was adding a texture to the image in order to add a little warmth. I was pleased with the results.

When I put this still life together, I wasn’t sure that it would turn out very well due to the bruising on the fruit, some of which I edited out. I wish I had thought to try this the day I brought all the fruit home. I also wish I had some bright red, shiny apples and yellow bananas in there. I had already eaten all of my bananas. They go bad way too quickly to leave them sitting around for more than a couple of days.

I can see why the masters gave fruit so much practice and attention. There’s nothing better than the simple, rounded shapes of fruit for teaching shading and lighting. I see future attempts being made with this subject. Next time, I want more colors, though. If that means I have to learn to eat a wider variety of fruit, then so be it.

Share your thoughts.

