Day 328 Black (& White) Friday

David and I put up our Christmas tree tonight, as is our tradition the day after Thanksgiving. I knew I wanted to reference Black Friday today, so I came up with this idea. It’s not very often that I see black and white photos of Christmas trees. I first tried using the black and white setting on my camera, but the photos were turning out with such little contrast that I finally decided on using a photo with normal settings converted to black and white in Corel Photo-Paint X4. After a few tweaks in brightness and contrast, I added a vignette, something I normally wouldn’t do because most photographers consider it a little cliché. I thought the vignette added a nice dramatic effect in this particular setting, so I was pleased with the result. Feel free to critique!

Share your thoughts.

