Day 320 Those Eyes!

Day 320 Those Eyes! by pixygiggles
Day 320 Those Eyes!, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

My neighbor found this frog today while working in the yard. He knows how much I adore them, so he came right over to get me. I believe it is a green frog due to the dorsolateral folds which are present in frogs, not toads. Someone, please, correct me if I am wrong. We get these a lot around our house. I think they might be living in the septic tank. Yeah, I know, eww! Their eyes are what get me though, those big beautiful eyes.

An interesting tidbit of information is that the Tympanum or ear circle can be helpful in identifying the sex of a frog. If it is the same size as the eye, it is female. If it is larger than the eye, it is male. There are other things to consider in determining the sex, also, like mature males have yellow throats. Well, I think it’s interesting; but I’m a little biased as I have an obsession with frogs and toads. Haha!

After I took a few photos, we took her over to a pile of leaves so that she would, hopefully, find her way back to where she needed to be. The poor little thing was ice cold and lethargic which makes me think she had already started the hibernation process. I do hope she gets somewhere safe to overwinter.

To read more about Green Frogs, Rana clamitans melanota, visit: http://www.uri.edu/cels/nrs/paton/LH_green_frog.html

Share your thoughts.

