Day 311 Election Day

Day 311 Election Day by pixygiggles
Day 311 Election Day, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

What to say about election day? I really hate politics, but I try my best to keep up to date on all the craziness that is our government. With so many differing opinions, it’s a wonder anything worthwhile ever gets done. Finding common ground and balance that benefits society as a whole is often a slow process, especially when pride and ego get in the way. It can often feel like progress comes at a snail’s pace.

The U.S. is no stranger to drama when it comes to elections and political campaigns. I’m a no-nonsense kind of gal, so the type of mudslinging that goes on during these campaigns only lessens my already low opinion of politicians. I learned a very valuable lesson while majoring in early childhood education – ignore the bad behavior; reward the good behavior. This isn’t just good advice when dealing with children. It’s very helpful with adults, as well, including bad-tempered politicians who behave like children.

When I cast my vote, I chose the person for each office that I felt deserved my respect more than the others. That is their reward. These are the people who represent my beliefs, my views, my opinions. These are the people who I am trusting to make the best decisions for our society. Voting is my constitutional right and my obligation as a United States citizen “in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity.”

If you haven’t done so already, please, vote! Your vote matters.

One thought on “Day 311 Election Day

Share your thoughts.

