Day 307 Green

Day 307 Green by pixygiggles
Day 307 Green, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

As everything in my neighborhood is turning brown and dying off for winter, this splash of color caught my eye when I walked out to the mailbox. The green bottle, inexplicably placed in a tree by the road, along with the little green plant whose host is all but dead reminded me that soon enough winter will come and go, allowing spring to start the cycle of rebirth.

I often wonder how other people manage the winter months. I find that as soon the leaves begin falling and the weather turns colder, all I want to do is hibernate. Long ago, I came to terms with the fact that I require more sleep at this time of year than any other. When I stopped fighting it and allowed myself this luxury – no necessity – I found that it made a huge difference in my mood and mental state of mind. Mid to late autumn throughout most of winter, should be a time when we slow down. If we take our cues from nature, wouldn’t life be more balanced?

Share your thoughts.

