Day 301 The Pumpkin Patch

Day 301 The Pumpkin Patch by pixygiggles
Day 301 The Pumpkin Patch, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Today, David and I made our annual trip to Amazin’ Acres of Fun, a local farm that hosts corn mazes, hay rides out to the pumpkin patch, and fun activities for kids of all ages. As always, we had a great time. We came home with four pumpkins, 2 small ones that are included with the price of admission and 2 larger ones we purchased for only $4.

Oh my goodness, it was so, so cold today! The high temperature only reached 49° with the wind chill making it feel like 45°. My ears were so cold, they felt as though they would break off. I was chilled to the bone, but happy to warm up by the bonfire. My clothes and hair still have that wonderful outdoorsy, smokey scent that lingers from bonfires and outdoor fun.

As David contemplates whether or not to carve his pumpkin for Halloween or use it in addition to the smaller ones for recipes, I’m trying to decide how to carve mine. I’m leaning towards Frankenstein since the storm system passing through has been dubbed “Frankenstorm.” I’ll work on a couple of sketches and see what I can come up with. Feel free to share links of your own pumpkin carvings. I would love to see them!

Share your thoughts.

