Day 298 The Batty Keyboard

Day 299 The Batty Keyboard by pixygiggles
Day 298 The Batty Keyboard, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

A friend of David’s gave him this keyboard for helping her move last year. It was a frightful mess when he brought it home. I’ve spent a great deal of time over the past year trying to clean it up. The keys had masking tape on them with the corresponding notes written on them which left it a sticky mess once removed. This is the main reason I don’t play this keyboard more often because I have a real aversion to stickiness. A few more cleanings with Goo Gone and Windex may take care of that yet. It’s a very time-consuming process, though, as great care must be taken to prevent any liquid from seeping into the electronic components.

The bat sticker on the Casio WK-1630 is the only one that remains from its previous owner. I chose to leave that one because it was still in good shape and I felt it gave the keyboard character. The WK-1630 still has a great sound, and I really like that it has 15 more keys than my other one. I still prefer my Casio CTK-800 because the piano tone sounds a little more authentic and the keys are less spongy. Here’s a comparison video of the two keyboards.

When I was a kid my family always used to go to Silver Dollar City (later Dollywood) in Pigeon Forge, TN, for summer fun. After graduating high school, I even worked at Dollywood for a couple of seasons. By far, it was the most entertaining job I ever had. One of my favorite rides at this park as a child was the Flooded Mine. It was removed from Dollywood in the late ’90’s in order to make room for Daredevil Falls.

For some reason, this catchy little tune that played throughout the ride has been stuck in my head since childhood. I have no idea what the song is actually called. I know that there were words to it, but those have long since left my brain. I finally recorded myself playing the closest version that my memory can recollect. Beware, the tune may get stuck in your head, too! Haha!

Share your thoughts.

