Day 293 Boy Meets Girl

Day 294 Boy Meets Girl by pixygiggles
Day 293 Boy Meets Girl, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

With the days growing shorter and colder, I decided to make a homemade photography light box. As much as I enjoy taking photos of small things and close-up photography, I thought this might be a useful tool to have. I only used one light source in this photo, aimed from above; but I could have as many as three from both sides and above if I so desired.

All of the tutorials I came across for building a light box suggested using a normal cardboard box. Anyone who has cats knows that if you have a box in your house of any kind, it is going to be commandeered by the furry felines. My solution to this was to make a collapsible light box that will fold up neatly when not in use. This will also help to protect it from unwanted cat hair in my photos.

I will need bigger paper for the inside, but the above photo gives you a general idea for the set-up. Slightly pulling the two sides in gives the top a resting point.

The key to making the hinges work properly and fold completely flat is to be sure to leave a slight gap between the pieces of cardboard or matboard when taping. Below is a graph I put together to give you guys a better understanding of what I made. Click on the image to view larger.

For a much more detailed “how-to,” complete with a video, visit: How to Create an Inexpensive Photography Lightbox on wikiHow’s website.

Share your thoughts.

