Day 290 Autumn Caterpillar

Day 291 Autumn Caterpillar by pixygiggles
Day 290 Autumn Caterpillar, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

I didn’t get my walk last week, so I went today. This caterpillar was by far my favorite find of the day. I have no idea which species it is, and I’ve exhausted all of my usual identification tools. I’ll have to ask for some help on Project Noah with this one. If anyone recognizes it, please, do tell. I’m obsessed with knowing the proper names for all of my finds.

Cane Creek Park is full of color as the trees transition into their autumn splendor. I love the scent in the air that accompanies autumn and the cool, brisk temperatures.

The allergies, I could do without. The walk relieved the dull headache I’ve had for the past couple of days, at least, temporarily. It returned with a vengeance as I made my way back home. I’m thinking some hot tea and Benadryl might be in order for the evening.

Update: The good people over at Project Noah solved the mystery yet again. This is a Smeared Dagger Moth caterpillar, Acronicta oblinita.  It is best use caution with this type of caterpillar because they can “sting” if handled.

One thought on “Day 290 Autumn Caterpillar

Share your thoughts.

