Day 287 Tree Afire

Day 288 Tree Afire by pixygiggles
Day 287 Tree Afire, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

I have been trying to get a decent photo of this tree in our yard for over a week, now. The colors have been simply gorgeous! Previous photos turned out disappointing because the colors seemed to bleed together into a massive blob. Today, I tried something different. I had read online that using a polarized lens filter can help reduce the glare of autumn foliage. Since my camera is only a point and shoot, I have no way to change lenses. Instead, I had to get a little creative. I shot this photo while holding my sunglasses directly in front of the camera’s lens. I was amazed to see that it actually helped cut out a lot of the glare, even though I still didn’t get that nice blue sky I was looking for. I’ll keep experimenting, but this one is far better than my previous attempts.

What other non-conventional, creative methods have you guys used to capture interesting shots?

4 thoughts on “Day 287 Tree Afire

  1. A really good idea to get around lacking of filter by using a sun glasses. I love your idea. To get a blue sky is also depending on angle of the sun as well. Even with CPL, you may or may not get that deep blue one.

  2. I’ve thought of doing that, but never in the moment – only at random times when I’m not in the throes of taking pictures. I can’t seem to make my way to a link to his blog, but Rick Braveheart has mentioned recently that there’s a unit that can work on half the image, filtering just the sky, say. I think he said there were options available for a point & shoot. I’ll keep trying.

    Speaking of which, I would’ve bet you used a swanky DSLR – I now have even more respect for your pictures.

    1. Aww, thanks, Sid. I would love to have a DSLR, but it’s just not within my budget. I found Rick Braveheart’s blog. He has a lot of really useful info on there! Lots of cool gadgets, too. I’ll have to spend an evening on his blog when I have more time. Thanks for mentioning it.

      1. I hear ya, about the camera budget thing. One day I’ll have a camera that doesn’t fit in my shirt pocket. I’m glad you found Rick, because I was going to have to resort to googling him.

Share your thoughts.

