Day 273 Preserving Autumn Leaves

I collected a few fallen leaves from the yard today that range in colors. I found a couple of different methods for preserving leaves and flowers that I want to give a try. The possibilities for creating art using natural objects like leaves as an inspiration intrigues me. I’ll see what I can come up with after I get them preserved. I’m also curious to see how long the different preserving methods last.

One method involves soaking the leaves in one part glycerin and two parts water for 2-6 days. Glycerin, normally used as a skin care product, can be found at your local pharmacy. Another method involves pressing the leaves between two pieces of wax paper using an iron. For complete instructions visit: Home Science Tools – Preserving Leaves at http://www.hometrainingtools.com/preserving-autumn-leaves/a/1366/. This article also has a third method using the microwave and an acrylic spray, but I doubt I will try that one.

I’ll update later with the results. The leaves are soaking for now… well… all but one. Sasha is a quick little thief! 😉

3 thoughts on “Day 273 Preserving Autumn Leaves

    1. Yep, she took off with it and proceeded to shred it to bits before I traded her for a more suitable toy. Sasha is constantly stealing things off of our desks. David and I have to be extra vigilant about what we leave lying around.

Share your thoughts.

