Day 257 A New Resident

Day 257 A New Resident by pixygiggles
Day 257 A New Resident, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

This spider has replaced the other orb weaver that was in the same spot back in July. After watching the other one grow from a tiny little thing to that last molt at the end of July, it left, moved on to wherever spiders go. It probably grew tired of my incessant photographing sessions.

This one is much more skittish than the other. I took two photos, this one and another, before deciding to move the distracting red gas cans in the background. When I returned to my spot, I must have startled it because it retreated into a crack heavily adorned with webbing. I’m actually impressed by this one’s web building technique which differs from the previous resident. Hopefully, I won’t permanently scare this one off, too. It has a lovely coloring that I haven’t seen before.

2 thoughts on “Day 257 A New Resident

  1. “Do you understand how there could be any writing in a spider’s web?”

    “Oh, no,” said Dr. Dorian. “I don’t understand it. But for that matter I don’t understand how a spider learned to spin a web in the first place. When the words appeared, everyone said they were a miracle. But nobody pointed out that the web itself is a miracle.”

    “What’s miraculous about a spider’s web?” said Mrs. Arable. “I don’t see why you say a web is a miracle-it’s just a web.”

    “Ever try to spin one?” asked Dr. Dorian.”

    ― E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

Share your thoughts.

