Questions About Spam on WordPress

Spam by pixygiggles
Spam, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

I normally delete all of the comments that Akismet flags even if they sound legit. Lately, I’ve been getting a lot more that sound like legitimate comments, but I’m hesitant to allow them. There have been a couple of times that I noticed one particular person whose comments ended up in my spam folder after I had conversed with her previously on my blog and on her blog. This leads me to wonder if Akismet ever makes mistakes and how it determines what is spam. Most of the comments it flags are obvious spam, but what about the few that might be legitimate comments? How does everyone else deal with the spam comments that Akismet flags?

9 thoughts on “Questions About Spam on WordPress

  1. I usually read all the comments in my spam folder – In the past I have ended up in other people’s spam folder even though I have commented to them before. It is easy to see which are spam and which are genuine 🙂

    1. Did you ever figure out what was causing that to happen? Odd things happen in the cyber world it seems. I read all of the comments in my spam folder, too. I’ve gotten some crazy, bizarre comments that gave me a good laugh; but they all end up deleted. I prefer to err on the side of caution. 🙂

  2. Every now and then, some legitimate comments do go to spam. If I know the person well, it is usually not spam. If I don’t know the person, it usually is spam. Having said that, I rarely take a chance. Deleting a legitimate comment is not the end of the world, but accepting a spam comment could cause much grief. Unless absolutely positive, delete, delete, delete…

    1. I rarely go back to see if my comments are approved because I normally just don’t have that kind of time; so my guess is most people wouldn’t even notice if I hadn’t approved a comment that ended up flagged by Akismet. Like you, if I’m not absolutely positive, it’s going to be deleted.

  3. I’ve had a couple of legitimate comments ending up in spam and skim through occasionally authorising the genuine ones. People who tend to comment on a lot of blogs or regularly post links in comments will often times be mistaken as spammers as it’s this sort of behaviour that askimet monitors. Trust your gut though, if unsure best to leave it where it is or email them from a burn address and see how you get on before deciding on their legitimacy.

    1. That makes sense. I think even Facebook works a lot like that. I’ve heard that if you “like” too many things in a certain amount of time, your account can be flagged for spamming there, also. This was a question that had crossed my mind a few times over the last couple of years. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to get some feedback on it. Glad to know I’m not alone in my caution.

      1. at the end of the day askimet is a robot, it can only guess at what it thinks might be spam and I’m grateful it’s pretty good at doing so but nothing can replace your own common sense.

  4. Well, I do get a lot of comments in my spam folder- though it seems to have tailed off a little lately. Many of them seem to be from young ladies who I suspect are very interested in photography, but not the sort of photography I do. 😉

Share your thoughts.

