Day 214 Chick-Fil-A Madness

This is not about chicken. This is not about free speech. This is not even about your Bible, your god, your religion, or your faith. The most disturbing aspect of the marriage equality debate is that so many people choose to overlook the fact that a minority group of people are being denied basic human rights because of their sexual orientation. Why aren’t you angry? Why aren’t you ashamed? Has history taught us nothing?

“Chick-Fil-A and Proverbs 25:21” by Jackson Pearce’s:

“It’s Not About Chicken” by Jackson Pearce’s:

I wrote the comments below yesterday on Facebook as a reaction to these videos because this Chick-Fil-A incident is only the most recent development in an issue that has been troubling my mind for a while.

I feel the owners of Chick-Fil-A are entitled to their beliefs and opinions just as all Americans are entitled to the freedoms of religion and speech, but that does not mean that businesses should have the same rights as individuals. That also does not mean that I will give Chick-Fil-A any more of my money to support anti-LGBT groups. Had I known they were doing that sooner, I would have quit eating there long ago. My moral integrity is worth more to me than supporting any corporation who thinks it is okay to hide their hateful comments behind the beliefs of its founders. Businesses should not have the same rights as individuals.

It’s one thing to be tolerant of a person’s religion, but it is quite another to tolerate hate. Hateful words and hateful actions should be shunned and shamed into submission because those are things that as a society we do not want to leave as a legacy to our children!

Hate leads to bullying…. Bullying leads to unspeakable cruelty and acts of violence…. Escalation…. I just want to scream to the puppet masters behind the curtain and those who simply know no better, “STOP IT! Grow up already. Evolve.” I can totally understand why the Founding Fathers of America felt that a wall of separation was needed. That proverbial wall needs to be re-bricked, reinforced, and electrified! The divisive nature of the attitudes being expressed in this debate does nothing to help humanity.

We are here to leave the world a better place. That is it. For a lot of people, the world would be a better place if they could only marry the person they love.

It’s not my intent to offend or anger anyone. My only intent is to share my thoughts on this subject. I needed to get it all out of my head in order to release it. My opinions are meaningless, just as everyone’s opinions are meaningless to anyone other than oneself. The thing is – if we don’t share our thoughts and opinions with one another, how can we expect to solve the hurdles in our path that threaten to divide us all.

2 thoughts on “Day 214 Chick-Fil-A Madness

Share your thoughts.

