What is this?

IMG_7775IMG_7776IMG_7777IMG_7778IMG_7779IMG_7780
IMG_7781IMG_7580IMG_7572IMG_7579

What is this?, a set on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Ever since around last Friday or Saturday, I noticed this white stuff all over the ground in the area where my bird bath and bird feeders are. I’m hoping someone can tell me what it is and if I should be concerned about it. I’m not sure if it is some type of fungus or what, but it seems to go away after the temperature rises. I’ve only seen it in the early morning hours. I was so concerned about it that I raked the entire area on Monday and sprayed it down really good with water, thinking that someone might be trying to poison the birds; but it keeps reappearing. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “What is this?

    1. This stuff isn’t really attaching itself to the vegetation, just the ground. It doesn’t appear to be killing what’s left of the grass & weeds that survived the drought. It’s possible that it has something to do with having such a long drought & then receiving so much rain the past few days. I was just reading an article about slime molds (eww) that looked similar, but I’m just not sure. It’s odd that it is only in that particular area around the bird feeders. It’s the strangest, most inexplicable thing I’ve seen in a while.

Share your thoughts.

