Day 193 Getting to Know Our Hummingbirds

I sat out on the porch for about an hour this evening, taking advantage of the cooler temperature from the recent rainfall. It gave me the chance to visit with the hummingbirds, so to speak. These little birds will forever fascinate me with their small size, speed, and territorial nature.

Amazingly, they didn’t seem to have a problem with me being there as I inched closer and closer to the feeder. They seemed more curious of my presence than anything else. After a lot of chattering and flying close and zooming away several times, they must have determined I was no threat because each one that visited resumed her feeding as usual. I didn’t see any males today.

I believe there are at least 3 visiting, but none will share the feeder at the same time. Their territorial nature became apparent as I sat there watching. Several times I flinched as one would chase the other away, zooming very close to where I was sitting and very close to my face! Maybe, that’s why they saw me as no threat, “Silly human, 20 times our size and she flinches!” Haha!

The clouds were positively gorgeous today. I spent a lot of that hour gazing at them as well. Shortly before I came in, I noticed the squirrel living in the maple tree industriously working on its nest, pulling clusters of fresh leaves from the tree to undoubtedly soften its bed for the night. Busy, busy, busy.

3 thoughts on “Day 193 Getting to Know Our Hummingbirds

  1. Gorgeous pictures – both of them. I’m a big fan of those little guys too, and horked myself into some real painful stances to get photos of our hummingbird visitors from our sunroom – they’d only come to the feeder if I was less obvious than merely sitting behind the window.

    1. Thanks, Sid! 🙂 In my first photo this season of a male hummingbird, I had to stand behind the door in the most awkward, painful position. I’m glad they’ve finally warmed up to me a bit, but it would seem that the key is no sudden movements.

Share your thoughts.

