Day 189 Pates Ford Marina

Day 189 Pates Ford Marina, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

David and I went out to Pates Ford Marina last night to watch the fireworks show. We didn’t get back in time to post my daily photo yesterday, but I didn’t expect that we would. We decided to take our time coming home, stopping by Hurricane Bridge Recreation Area and the Scenic Overlook off of State Route 56 to view the moon and stars. This gave me the opportunity for more night photography. It would seem that a lot of my photos lately have been at night. I blame it on the heat during the day because I don’t do well in temperatures over 100°. I’m also enjoying the effects of playing with the long exposure settings on my camera.

These two photos from Hurricane Bridge Recreation Area were both set at a 15 second exposure. I like that I captured the boat lights moving on the lake in the above photo. The moon shining behind the clouds almost looks like a sunset; but if you view the photo larger (clicking on any of the images here will take you to a larger view on Flickr), you can see the stars in the sky as well, which brings me to the photo below. I’m so happy that I managed to get a shot of the Big Dipper (Ursa Major). It was the first constellation that I ever learned, and I always look for it in the sky. You may have to view the larger version to really see this one well. Even though these turned out a bit noisy due to the 800 ISO speed that I used, I can honestly say that this point and shoot camera is outperforming what I expected from it.

Back to the fireworks, I was disappointed that they didn’t have music to go along with the show, but the fireworks were quite beautiful. Hearing the boats blow their horns at the end of the show reminded me of the times I spent out at Land Between the Lakes watching fireworks on the Fourth of July.

Without further ado, here are some of my favorite fireworks shots from last night. I’m posting my top 6 here, but there are more on Flickr if you want to follow that link over to view the full set.

This one should have been purple because it would have looked just like a thistle!

I really liked this one because you can see the hint of boat lights on the water.

While the majority of these photos were taken using the “Fireworks” setting on my camera, which uses a 2 second exposure, this one was a 4 second exposure. I only did a few like this and only two of those were worth sharing on Flickr. It seemed harder to get the lights in focus with the longer exposures. I probably just need more practice.

I’m pleased with the resulting images this year. Let me know what you guys think. Feel free to share helpful suggestions and constructive criticism as they are always welcomed!

One thought on “Day 189 Pates Ford Marina

Share your thoughts.

