Day 180 Grass Spider (Genus Agelenopsis)

Via Flickr:
I noticed this grass spider while filling the bird feeders this afternoon. It built a decent sized funnel-web right outside the computer room window. Given its small size, my guess is that it is a juvenile. Maybe, it will stick around for a while; so I can watch it grow up. These spiders can get pretty big.

I almost stepped on a baby bird today walking out to the feeders! I actually squealed when I saw it because it startled me. I had to laugh at myself. I squatted down to take a closer look and almost got flogged by the momma robin! Oh my goodness, she made quite a fuss. As I quickly walked away, I told her, “Sorry, sorry. I’m leaving!” When I went back outside to photograph the grass spider, she was still fussing at me; and by that point, the fledgling was nowhere to be seen.

When I came back inside from filling the bird feeders, I felt something crawling in my hair and knocked it out with my hand. At first, I thought it was a tick; but it had the prettiest decorative pattern on its back and antennae. Measuring no bigger than 4-5mm, I have no idea what it was. I took this little hitchhiker back outside and managed to get a few photos before it scampered away.

And then later this evening, the neighbor’s grand-kids shared another find with me, some tiny frogs like the ones I saw at Cane Creek Park. Shh, don’t tell them I freed the poor little things when they left the cup behind on my porch. 😉 My motto will always & forever be: A happy critter is a free critter!

One thought on “Day 180 Grass Spider (Genus Agelenopsis)

Share your thoughts.

