Day 145 Ant Moat

Day 145 Ant Moat by pixygiggles
Day 145 Ant Moat, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

When I checked the hummingbird feeder yesterday, it was covered in ants. I mean really covered! I should have gotten a picture of that, but I didn’t. Instead, I decided to build a moat, well, a secondary moat. I honestly didn’t realize that this hummingbird feeder has a built-in moat until after I made the other one. That raised area on the top can be filled with enough water to serve as a moat. Duh! Why that didn’t dawn on me sooner, I’ll never know.

I decided to go ahead and use the one I made as well. Two lines of defense are better than one, right? I stumbled on this very simple and effective idea for an ant moat after doing a quick search to see if I could make one rather than buy one. Thank you sethdove9 on YouTube for this ingenious solution! Materials needed: two coated (to prevent rusting) “crown bolts” or “cup hooks,” a plastic cork (like from a wine bottle), and a small plastic cup (like the cap off of a mousse bottle or in my case, I used the cap off of David’s deodorant). Fill with water after hanging the feeder because the weight of the feeder holds the cup upright.

Easy to make hummingbird feeder ant moat:

Checking it this afternoon, the ants are still there climbing down the chain to the water. It appears that none have managed to make it past the moats to my knowledge; although a few casualties of war are floating in the moats. Keeping my fingers crossed that the ants will give up and surrender the castle to the hummingbirds. 🙂

One thought on “Day 145 Ant Moat

Share your thoughts.

