Day 140 The Proud Graduate

Day 140 The Proud Graduate by pixygiggles
Day 140 The Proud Graduate, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

This past weekend was wonderful. Seeing my son graduate and spending some quality time together made the stress of facing that huge crowd at the graduation ceremony well worth the tears. Yes, I got a little panicked when I realized that I missed my chance to get down to my seat and cried a few tears of frustration; but I managed to find a spot to stand where I could see the ceremony. Thinking about it now, it’s a little funny because the spot I found to stand was under the huge sign for section “E” and the only reason I got that spot was because I was short enough to actually stand there and see.

The expo center was so crowded that many, many people were standing around at the top of the seating platforms. I counted 458 names of graduating seniors in the commencement booklet. That’s a lot of students! While the expo center can seat 3900 people, there had to be far more loved ones than that there. Even though my mom and I arrived a half hour early, my guess is that the majority of the seats had already been taken long before. Alex later told me that people began arriving as early as 7:00am. The ceremony didn’t begin until 10:00am.

I am so, so proud of my son! Alex graduated with honors and starts a new adventure with the Navy soon. To my son and all the 2012 graduates,

Congratulations!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” —Mark Twain

Share your thoughts.

