Wheel Bug Nymph

Wheel Bug Nymph by pixygiggles
Wheel Bug Nymph, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
With my fascination of wheel bugs, I’m surprised that I didn’t realize that this was a wheel bug nymph when I first saw it. I noticed it on the trunk of my car after I stopped to get my oil changed today. It was still there when I got home! I guess that explains why it kept flaring its rear end up at me as I was trying to photograph it. The wheel bug has two scent sacs that can be fired from its rear end (anus for those more technically minded) to ward off prey. The scent is similar to a stink bug. This one kept threatening, but never fired.

2 thoughts on “Wheel Bug Nymph

Share your thoughts.

