Day 61 Moss Spore Capsules

Day 61 Moss Spore Capsules by pixygiggles
Day 61 Moss Spore Capsules, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

David and I made it back to Standing Stone State Park this afternoon. It was certainly a beautiful day for it, sunny and very warm. More storms will be moving in later tonight, so I wanted to get our weekly hike in before they arrive. We must have hiked at least 2.5 miles today. We took the trail around the lake again which was as stunningly beautiful as last time. We went a lot further back today than last time but still had to turn around to hike back before it got too late.

Today’s photo is a close-up shot of moss growing on a fallen tree log. I noticed moss like this at Cane Creek the last time David and I went, but I couldn’t get close enough to get a good photo. The way the sunlight was hitting the shoots of spore capsules made it my pick of the day. I took a lot of photos today, but the rest will have to wait until later because I’m so tired that I can’t think straight. 0.o

I was sad to see that the honeybee tree by the dam no longer has any honeybees. They’re all gone. Maybe the park relocated them for the safety of the bees and park visitors. At least, I hope that’s the case.

2 thoughts on “Day 61 Moss Spore Capsules

Share your thoughts.

