Day 37 Sasha’s Nemesis

Day 37 Sasha's Nemesis by pixygiggles
Day 37 Sasha’s Nemesis, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
All of our cats enjoy watching the birds at and around the bird feeders, as do I; but mourning doves, in particular, are the one species to always get a stir out of Sasha. Imagine a wild eyed, twitching tailed, ball of fur, chattering away as cats often do while observing prey they can’t get to. I’ve always called it the “funky meow” because it sounds like a combination of meow, purr, and clicking sound all at once.

I couldn’t make up my mind on how I wanted to present today’s photo, so I uploaded both. This is a higher quality version to show the detail in the mourning dove. Clicking on the image will take you to Flickr where you can view it much larger. I also re-cropped the image to hopefully produce a more interesting composition. I still can’t make up my mind which one I’ll print; but maybe, you guys can help me decide.

Just a short clip to demonstrate what I’m talking about.

Purina’s website has a short answer to the question: Why does my cat chatter her teeth when she sees a bird?

Share your thoughts.

