Day 14 Northern Flicker

Day 14 Northern Flicker, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

This photo is a little better than the one below, but not by much. We have plastic on our windows right now; so not only was I shooting these photos behind glass, but also behind the clear plastic. I chose this for my daily photo because this sighting made my morning a happy one. Even though it’s not the greatest photo, it is what I want to remember about today.

Northern Flicker, a photo by pixygiggles on Flickr.

First let me say, these photos are pretty awful! Seriously… awful. I uploaded them for demonstrative purposes only because I was amazed that I managed to capture her image landing on the feeder, albeit a blurry landing. This Yellow-shafted Flicker is so much larger than the other woodpeckers that frequent my feeders. The yellow plumage certainly took me by surprise as I am rather new to identifying birds and this is the first time I saw one of these woodpeckers at my bird feeder. Actually, this is the first I have ever seen one of these period! I was thrilled!

For more information about the Northern Flicker, visit The Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

Does anyone else share my bird-watching obsession? Please, feel free to share photographing tips or bird-watching tips. I’m not so sure I can get the best photos of birds with any of the cameras I currently own; but I’m always up for a challenge and looking for pointers. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 14 Northern Flicker

Share your thoughts.

