365 Day Photography Challenge

2011 was a pretty raunchy year, not just for me, but a lot of people. I didn’t accomplish as much on my blog this past year as I would have liked to. Far too many distractions. That’s why for the year of 2012 I am planning to do the 365 day photography challenge. I’ll post at least one photo every day of the year. I’m not going to guarantee that I have a lot to say (or write, rather). I have such a hard time finding the words to express what is on my mind that I think I’ll leave it up to the photos to do that for me on most days. My intent for this next year is to learn as much about photography and my new camera as I possibly can.

A few words about my cameras: I don’t own a high-end, expensive camera. I just don’t feel that I’m there yet and I simply cannot afford one. However, David bought me a new point and shoot for Christmas, a Canon PowerShot A2200. The HD video capabilities on this camera are far superior to anything I’ve owned before. Previously, I had used my Kodak EasyShare C433 Zoom. I’m not even sure how old that camera is because a very dear friend of mine gave me that camera several years ago. I have loved every moment I spent taking photos with it. Going from a 4 Megapixel camera to 14.1 Megapixel camera should prove to be very interesting. I’m excited to see what I can learn from it.

I also have a camera on my cell phone, but that one is so horrible that I rarely use it. My cell phone is a Samsung SGH-T401G. The photos it takes can sometimes surprise me, especially outdoor photos; but generally speaking, the photos tend to be very grainy.

And last, but not least, is my old Yashica FX-3 Super 2000 film camera (circa 1984). That was the camera I used for all 3 of my photography classes at APSU. This is the only 35mm single lens reflex camera I have ever owned. I learned a lot from this camera. More than I learned from my college teacher, unfortunately. Even though I enjoyed learning to develop my own film and the whole printing process, I still prefer the ease of digital cameras and their versatility over film cameras. Not to mention the fact that nowadays, I can never remember to get the film developed. I have 5 very old rolls of film that still need developed! Who knows what is on them or if they’re any good. I’ll still get them developed just to see. Maybe, I will be surprised and find some lost treasures there.

This is my goal for the next year – take at least one photo every day. Wish me luck because this task will not only teach me more about photography, but it will also teach me discipline. And that is something that I am severely lacking. Does anyone want to take the challenge along with me?

2 thoughts on “365 Day Photography Challenge

  1. Good luck! This should be fun for me as a viewer and fan of your blog 🙂 I think that I’m going to recommend this to my daughter too. She’s a avid photographer & got a new camera for Yule as well. Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks, Hannah! Tell her she should give it try from me, too. I think it will be a lot of fun, plus I’ll have a record of the entire year in photographs as an added bonus, and I’ll get to know the new camera. 😀 Happy New Year to you, too!

Share your thoughts.

