Native American

I’ve been wanting to get back into doing some traditional drawings. This is a pen and ink drawing I completed last week that I wanted to share on here. I have had a fascination with Native American culture and history for quite some time. Maybe it was that first visit to Cherokee, North Carolina, with my family as a child that sparked my interest; but anytime Native American history was brought up in school, I listened intently. As an adult I have had to completely relearn that history because so much of what I was taught in school was so dramatically inaccurate and biased. The true story of what happened not so long ago left a far greater impact on my mind and conscience than anything my teachers ever told us. Winston Churchill once said, “History is written by the victors.” The truth in this statement was never so apparent to me as it has been while researching the devastation that Native Americans suffered.

The photograph that I worked from to create this drawing is titled Indians at dedication from the Library of Congress Flickr stream (Bain News Service, publisher). They have an amazing collection of photographs online.

3 thoughts on “Native American

Share your thoughts.

